A 'Changing Of The Guard' At The Medical Council

Author:Mr Tom Hayes and Rebecca Ryan

The term of the current medical council expired on 31 May 2013. The formation of the new council will be determined in accordance with the provisions of the Medical Practitioners Act 2007. The new 25-seat council comprises: Six specialist practitioners who have been elected by registered practitioners, namely:

Dr Colm O'Herlihy – Obstetrics and Gynaecology Dr Sean Curran – Pathology / Radiology Dr Anthony Breslin – Public Health Medicine Dr Audrey Anne Dillon – Hospital based practitioner Dr Barbie Anne Golden – Anaesthesia Dr Ruairi Hanley – Practitioner not falling within the above catagories Five members have been appointed by nomination of the Minster for Health and Children, namely:

Ms Margaret Murphy – Patient advocate, reappointed to the Council Professor Alan Johnson – Formerly of the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland Councillor Sally Mulready – UK Labour Party & member of the Irish Council of State Ms Mary Duff – Director of Nursing at St Vincent's University Hospital in Dublin Ms Katherine Bulbulia - Teacher, former member of Seanad Eireann The HSE and the Medical Schools have each nominated two members, namely:

Ms Cornelia Stuart - Quality and Risk Department, HSE Dublin North East Mr Sean Hurley - Office of the Chief Officer, HSE South Professor Mary Leader - Professor of Pathology, Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland Professor Fidelma Dunne - Professor of Medicine, National University of Ireland The following members have been nominated by various bodies:


To continue reading