Tax Treaty Update

Author:Mr Liam Diamond

Ireland has signed comprehensive double taxation agreements with 62 countries, of which 49 are in effect. New agreements with Georgia, Moldova, Serbia and Turkey have recently come into force and will be effective from 1 January 2011. New agreements were signed with Hong Kong, Kuwait, Montenegro, Morocco, Singapore and the United Arab Emirates and are awaiting legal procedures to be completed before coming into effect. (All of these treaties have immediate effect in Ireland under domestic law once signed). Negotiations for new agreements with Armenia, Panama, Singapore, Saudi Arabia, Thailand, a new agreement replacing the existing treaty with Germany and negotiations on Protocols to the existing agreements with Belgium and Switzerland have been concluded and are expected to be signed shortly. Research support – new competence centres in microelectronics and nanotechnology As part of its strategy to support the semiconductor/microelectronics industry, the Government recently launched two new competence centres, namely the Microelectronics Competence Centre Ireland and the Applied Nanotechnology Centre. Both centres, whose research programmes will be determined by corporate members (rather than universities), will undertake leading edge, commercially focused research to support the industry. International mobile employees The past 3 years have seen some significant developments for internationally mobile employees, including: a useful...

To continue reading